My COMPLETE Hair Routine For Fuller, Healthier, Shinier Hair (4C Natural Hair)

by missguidedgirl

Hi guys!

IMG01115-20140220-1350

 

 

So I have a habit of being wordy and never getting to the point. Let’s just get right into it:

🙂

I do not have a set schedule on when I do my hair. I just go along by the look and feel of my hair.

I especially go by the feel of my hair. If it feels manageable and won’t break when I style it then I most likely won’t co-wash it that day. I can go anywhere between a few days to a few weeks without co-washing my hair. It really just depends on how much TLC I have been giving my hair.

Having said that, I realise that it is impossible to explain my routine with all these “I do my hair on a whim..” statements. So I will base the routine on the assumption that I do my hair every week. 🙂 *Perfect world* 🙂

Co-Wash Routine

I wash my hair and scalp with a conditioner instead of shampoo. This is known as co-washing (conditioner washing). This method of washing is more gentle for afro textured hair as it still manages to cleanse the scalp, while still being gentle and moisturising.

My favourite conditioner for the longest time now is the Revlon Flex line of conditioners. They are inexpensive and easily accessible. But most importantly, it is super thick and creamy which gives it tons of slip, which makes detangling my thick strands of hair so easy, even when my hair has gone for faaaaar too long without being detangled.

Usually I’ll add a generous amount of Olive oil, castor oil, coconut oil, grapeseed oil, you name it to the conditioner to make it more nourishing for my hair.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5hDNKJOwsRw

So I detangle my hair with the conditioner in my hair, twist it up into sections and put it under a conditioning cap for about 30 -45 minutes (or like me, overnight because I can :-p)

I do not use a comb or brush on my hair 99% of the time. I just use my fingers and it works fine for me. (Sometimes my hair needs more than fingers, so then I use a detangling brush.)

1475858_10152925163582472_3308003226367288506_n

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Fv3mUygoZ0

Then when I am in the shower or over a sink, I rinse the product out while making sure to massage my scalp to lift and rinse out any dirt. I twist  up the sections and proceed to the next step.

 

Styling

I always use organic, unrefined, 100% natural shea butter and whatever oils I have on hand to style my hair. I take it section at a time when styling my hair. This makes it easier to handle the amount of hair I have and keeps everything organised. I make sure to be quite generous with the amount of product I apply to ensure that my hair does not dry out over the course of the days till my next styling session. I use my fingers for this process as well.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G7hFvRtCwq4

I usually wear the twists in, as a protective style for a few days or for a week or two. Then either I re-twist my hair or take the twists out for a twist out, afro, etc.

Every night, or as needed, I spritz my hair with water and apply a bit more product to ensure my hair hair stays moisturised.

 

Other

Just some other points to mention:

– I sleep every night with a satin scarf on my head. EVERY NIGHT. It makes a difference. Especially on a cumulative basis.

– I drink TONS of water. It’s actually annoying. But makes a huge difference

– Patience. It’s taken me almost 3 years to get a decent head of hair. And I’m still faaaaar from where I want to be.

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7koiRcgOupw

 

If you have any questions, let me know in the comments. Or tweet me. And check out my YouTube channel for more information.

 

Lots of love,

Missguidedgirl4 xo

 

 

 

 

