My Hair Goals 2012: Did I achieve them?

by missguidedgirl

Hey guys,

I seriously cannot believe that the year is coming to an end. I feel like it just started the other day!! But the fact of the matter is, time has flown by and I hardly achieved much greatness this year. I was meant to graduate but due to academic difficulties, sadly that was not the case.

Anyways, enough of that.BIG hair dont care

I remember when I first started this blog back in May, I was not sure what I wanted to achieved. I never saw myself as a huge writer and thought that I would give up on this journey soon after it started. But I am sooo in love with writing about what I am passionate about. I started my healthy hair journey sometime in April/May after seeing a friend of mine with really long, healthy and just really jaw-dropping hair and I was like damn, black people can do that too?? I mean, I ‘knew’ or so I thought that our hair grew but I was also always under the impression that it was genetic to have long hair and that only some people were lucky enough to grow hair past their shoulders. Smh.I mean, all I know from life is that our hair is a tangly mess, that’s dry as hell and looks and feels like tumbleweed. psssh

Some people might look at me, see my blog and think that ‘this is such a silly thing to busy herself with’. But in reality, I love my hair because it is something that makes me feel beautiful. I hate it when black people go on about our past because we can’t move forward if we always looking back. But the reality of the story is, is that every day black children, and women alike, face a world where they don’t feel beautiful or feel they are inferior because of our past.

So to me, this is not just about hair. I mean, it is, lol, but not only that. I want to be an example to other black people to show that even with my afro, I am still beautiful. And yes, my hair does not have defined curls, but so what? Every head of hair is made equally beautiful. SO I am going to continue being obsessed with my hair so that it can look good. Other races take care of their anyways, so I do not see why it is such a big deal.

Pheeew. Now that that is over with. :-p

In a post I had done previously, I wrote down my hair goals for 2012, what I wanted to achieve in my hair journey and what I expected, etc. HERE THEY ARE!

1. To continue to implement best practice hair care techniques in my regimen.

2. To make the health of my hair the main goal. (should be number one hey?)

3. To come up with a fool proof regimen for my hair that is consistent. ( Although I kinda do have one, it still changes quite regularly due to being a product junkie.)

4. To stop being a product junkie. :-p

5. To take length check photos every few months (perhaps 4 months) to track my hair progress. This is important because even though I know I am retaining length, I don’t actually know what my average growth rate is, and I am curious.

WELL???????

1.I can proudly say that I have figured out a  regimen that works for me. For me, less is more. And because of my martial arts training, I really couldn’t be bothered wearing my hair out all the time. But I’ll outline my regimen and goals for 2013 in another post.

2. Well….. I guess so. Everything I did was aimed at protecting my hair so I guess I did. I did have a few downs but nothing to serious and at least I learned a lesson or two along the way.

3. I have a 100% fool proof regimen. Not going to change it for the world. Unless my hair is crying for change. More on that to come.

4. Because of my fool proof regimen, I no longer practice product junkieism. LOL

5. I didn’t do the length checks as often as that. I wear my hair in braids A LOT so it doesn’t really thrill me to do a length check so often. But honestly healthy hair that is treated well grows. So, I will do a yearly length check every December to track my progress. But no more often than that. I’ll just be sure to monitor the health of my hair through out the year.

It’s always good to look back on what you set out to achieve and monitor your progress. I want to retain length. I want healthy hair. So I will work towards getting it. And the more often you do it, the more a part of your life it becomes and doesn’t feel like work anymore.

