Kinky hair is beautiful!!

by missguidedgirl

Hey guys,

 

So I just wanted to come on here and motivate you on your natural hair journeys or rather just on your healthy hair journeys!

Every time I post something, it automatically shares on Facebook and twitter!! Eeek! And I always have a mini panic attack because no matter what I tell people, I still feel somewhat embarrassed about my natural hair journey. I know that I have nothing to be ashamed of but truth be told, the stigma surrounding natural hair is very much alive. Why you trying to grow your hair? You know it will always be short, right? Stop trying to be like ’em white girls! Etc., Etc., Etc….

I am not one to care about what other people think of me or the whole idea of natural hair, but I won’t lie it does sometimes hurt when someone asks you if you are having a bad hair day when in fact it took half an hour to pick out your fro to perfection or to fluff out your afro puff just right! YES! I get pissed off too! I mean here I am trying to love myself in all my kinky nappy glory and there you are in my space trying to rain on my parade. Sigh.

But at the end of the day when I am loving my hair (others say I am obsessed with my hair hmmmpf..) I remember why I am doing it in the first place. I do not want to go back to the days of relaxing my hair and trying to make myself believe that I am beautiful only if I have wind that blows in the hair. I had relaxed hair at one point and not once did I ever complain about girls with natural hair! I guess I just ask the same!

I want to show that with care, patience, understanding and commitment, your hair- relaxed or not- can be your best asset!

So, as much as I panic, I never regret any of my posts! And I am so inspired by anyone that takes their lives- be it fitness, health, weight, hair, attitude whatever- into their own hands and decide how they are going to see the next day!

I thank you all for the amazing support and for those who are still not convinced, I ask you to embrace youtube! The platform for the most inspirational people out there.

🙂 I love this journey because it is allowing me to create a lifestyle that is holistic and healthy in all respects.

 

How do you guys feel/get treated about your journeys?

 

THANK YOU!!!!! ❤

 

Until next time,

Missguidedgirl

xoxo

