I braided my own hair!

by missguidedgirl

Hey guys,

So I have finally done what I have always wanted to learn to do to my own hair and that is braid it!!!!!

After taking out my braids recently, I was so excited to  have my crazy fro back! But then I realised that my hair was in quite a state. I needed a trim desperately. But I was in no mood to deal with that because it would mean having to into town and invest in a pair of scissors good enough to cut hair.

So I fell onto plan B: BRAIDS.

At first I was reluctant because I had never done it before but I knew that I had to start somewhere. I thought that they take soooo much effort and come out looking like a yetti mangled it. But it was now or never; do or die!

So I decided to start off easy and work on technique. I made the sections large and chunky as opposed to really tiny. I also just wanted a different look.

It took me almost two days to complete (although the actual hours were less than 24 *laziness during the day*) and when I had a look in the mirror I was surprised to find that it didn’t look all that bad. 😀

So from now on I am not going sit through an entire day of braiding in an uncomfortable place where the ladies don’t respect my desires to save my hair line or understand that I am on a hair journey. I will save money as well, which is always a plus!

I’ll give my hair a trim when I take these braids out. Maybe they will stay in for a month or so. Until then, I’ll be sure to deep condition, wash, oil and love my hair.

IMG00249-20121129-1825

 

Oh and about my natural hair: I’m so happy with the progress that I have made. I can’t wait to do a length check at the end of December or beginning January (depending on when I take out my braids). My hair has grown so much since I put the braids in. I definitely feel like I am on track with my goal length challenge! The front bangs have impressed me    the most because my hair is reaching lengths never before seen! :-p

See you in the next post!

Missguidedgirl

 

