Braiding Regimen: Update

by missguidedgirl

Hey all,
so I decided to stick to my guns and keep my braids in for at least another month. I know, I know. Some of you might be thinking of how old and nasty my hair may be looking and all of that, but the truth is, is that it is actually holding up quite well.

I did however, have to make a few touch ups to my edges as they were starting to look crazy.

So, in order to maintain the integrity of my braids, I took out and undid about 2 to 3 rows of the braids in the front and sides of my hair.

I saved the braid fiber for when I was to reinstall them again.

Then I detangled my hair ensuring that I got rid of any shed hair. This is an important step in ensuring that as you rebraid the hair, those loose hairs don’t tangle around your roots or ends causing knots and breakage.

Because I had quite a bit of hair out, I decided to show my hair some love and deep conditioned for about 15 minutes. (I ate dinner in the meantime :-p). This is a great way of adding back some moisture to my very fragile edges. After rinsing out the conditioner, I applied some EVCO (Extra Virgin Coconut Oil) to my hair and twisted up to dry. Once dry, I proceeded to reinstall the braids.
TIP: The most important thing to ensure when putting them in is that you have to create neat parts so that the braids appear to be new.

Then spray with your water or moisturizer of your choice and wrap your hair with your satin/silk scarf for bed.

Hopefully this helps someone out there.

Peace xxx

