Natural means NATURAL to me!

by missguidedgirl

Hey everyone,

So I have been doing a lot of thinking over the past month and I have come to a decision to use only natural and/or organic (where possible) products on my hair from now on. I have been doing a ton of research on the internet and to be honest, I had a mini freak out moment. If you take the time to research what is actually going into our hair care and beauty products, you’ll be amazed at what junk and rubbish they are putting in them. It’s amazing how we never take the time to find out if those ingredients cause cancer, irritations etc.

A few months ago I bought a sulfate free shampoo and I thought that that was the best thing I could have done for my hair. But i didn’t know what else to be aware of. So recently out of boredom I started googling the ingredients of the shampoo and one of the ingredients of the shampoo was cocamidopropyl betaine and when I read the wiki results I was horrified to learn that it was a carcinogen: CAUSED CANCER! This wasn’t the last of the scares but anyways. I immediately threw it out and thank God I don’t have to wash my hair for another few weeks. But it left me wondering: what now?

So I took to the web to find out what I could use as an alternative to shampoos to clean my hair and many search results talked about clay! I know that one of my favourite (actually my very favourite) natural hair vlogger Naptural85 recommended the Terressentials Organic Pure Earth Hair Wash and at the time, I didn’t really care to know tooo much about what was in our products. But now I think I can imagine what she must have been feeling and I’m thinking of going the same route.

I don’t think I’ll be trying the hair wash (shipping costs to South Africa will be insane) BUT I will be trying different clays to see which give the best results. And I do believe that this is the right thing for me. I am not trying to scare anyone else and if being organic is not for you then please don’t feel that you HAVE to be organic. And I’m also not saying that if I don’t use such products that I will be okay. NO! I’m not kidding you: everything we use contains either this or that which causes this and that! I just want to make the changes where I possibly can and lessen the harm to my body by substituting some products I use. I really don’t see myself making my own toothpaste etc. :-p

But this was just something I thought I would share with you all. Knowledge is power!

If you have any tips on using clay or even any cons to it please don’t hesitate to inform me. For now all the information I have read to using clay has been great but I won’t be fooled into thinking that just because it’s natural that it is good for me.

Enjoy your Sunday tomorrow!

Valeu,

Sophia

All of this reading is making me scared but I’d rather know than not know.
Also, shrinkage babay!!!

