My hair length challenge! 4C Hair.

by missguidedgirl

Hey guys,

so I just realised while talking to my sister that I made a bet with her in December 2009 that I will be able to grow my hair long natural in 5 years. Naturally (pun intended :-p), she laughed at me and very easily agreed to the bet. I said that I would be able to and she said I wouldn’t.

So the stage is set.

It has been two years and 5.5 months since then and I must admit that I am a bit disappointed in myself. I haven’t really achieved crazy lengths. But to my defense I only started reading up on natural hair this year and have experienced the most length retention this year, since going natural .

So here are the stats:

I have 30 months starting July to grow my hair as long as possible. (6 + 12(2)). Seeing as hair grows at a certain rate I am going to be ‘realistic’ with my expectations. If I factor growth at 0.5 inches per month for 30 months, then I should have 15 inches extra hair. Considering my hair is +/- 3.5 (rounded down) inches at the moment, I should have 18.5 inches of hair. Taking into account trimming, breaking etc, I’d say a downward revision of 3 inches (:-?). So the grand total is: 15 inches.

Phew! What hardwork all that maths was. 😀

So…

Can it be done?’

Only time will tell.

I hope that some of you will be inspired to take part in this challenge with me.

Comment and let me know what you think.

Until next time,

Valeu!

